Due to the quarantine, we had to cancel our annual in-person Cancer Survivorship 101 event that was planned for June, 2020. Instead we created a series of video lectures presented here on our website. 

Click here to view the video lectures for Cancer Survivorship 101, 2020.


Join the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society on November 30, 2020 at 1:00pm EST for a free webinar to support our patient’s caregivers and loved ones.

We invite you to learn more about: Your role as a caregiver Self-care for caregivers Long-distance caregiving Physical, social and emotional challenges for caregivers

Speaker: Richard Dickens, MS, LCSW-R Director of Client Advocacy CancerCare New York, NY

Register to attend Insight Into Caregiving by following this link.


Best Tips to Combat Fatigue

Date:
December 2, 2020

Time:
12:00 pm to 1:00 pm ET
11:00 am to 12:00 pm CT
10:00 am to 11:00 am MT
9:00 am to 10:00 am PT

Cancer-related fatigue is one of the most common complaints post-transplant. It can be described as distressing, persistent an extreme sense of physical, emotional, and/or cognitive tiredness or exhaustion related to cancer or cancer treatment that can interfere with usual functioning and does not simply go away with normal rest. Join us as we peel back the layers and learn together how to combat fatigue. We’ve asked our mentors, patients, caregivers and medical professionals for their best tips and tricks and we’re going to share them all our gift to you this holiday season.

Stacey Prieur RN, BSN, CHTC, Transplant Coordinator, Blood and Marrow Stem Cell Transplant Program at the Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Center will lead this program with some expert guidance and then Jennifer Gillette, our licensed staff social worker, will share submitted ideas during the call. Grab some time for you and get ready to feel energized and refreshed.

There will also be plenty of time for questions. Click here to register for this event.

For technical questions, call Peggy Burkhard at (248) 770-5172 or email peggyburkhard@nbmtlink.org


Survivor Journey's Past Educational Events

CANCER SURVIVORSHIP 101: WHAT HAPPENS NEXT

Cancer Survivorship 101 is designed to educate survivors, caregivers, loved ones, as well as anyone interested in learning more about factors that play a role before, during, and after cancer treatment. 

This forum features national leaders in cancer survivorship from centers including Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center and Smilow Cancer Hospital/Yale New Haven Health. 

The 2019 keynote speaker was Larry Lucchino, Chairman of the Jimmy Fund, Non-Hogkin’s Lymphoma Survivor, Former President/CEO Boston Red Sox 2002-2015, Principal Owner/ Chairman of Pawtucket Red Sox. 

Use the links below to view the slides and presentations from the Cancer Survivorship 101 events of each year:

Cancer Survivorship 101, June 2019

Cancer Survivorship 101, June 2018